KKSN 910 sold – changes format

February 20, 2007 at 7:56 am 4 comments

Portland radio station KKSN (“Kisn”) , simulcast on KSLM (1390 AM) in Salem, has a new owner. Entercom, the nation’s fourth-largest communications company, sold KKSN to Salem Communications, which is the largest national communications company focused on Christian and family-themed content.

The sale had been in the works for some time, said Chelsea Kottre of Entercom. “Kisn” had been losing money for over a year,” Kottre said.

It is not yet clear what the station’s new format will be. It is now simulcasting the talk programming of KTRO (93.1 FM “Talk Radio Oregon”). The KSLM station on 1390 now simulcasts Entercom’s sports station KFXX (1080 AM).

(Michelle Theriault / StatesmanJournal.com)

Entry filed under: Medium Wave, North America.

KUPI 980 Goes Spanish KAKC 1300 Tulsa (OK) switched to Sports

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Wanda Roleson  |  March 13, 2007 at 6:06 am

    It really sucks that Kisn and Kksn have been taken away from us twice! I grew up listening to the former, and now that we we happy to have the later bringing the decent music back.. it was sold!!! I guess I won’t listen to radio anymore! I’ll just plug in my CD’s and listen to them! Good-by to radio! We do not need you!

    Reply
  • 2. Wanda Roleson  |  March 13, 2007 at 6:20 am

    It really sucks that Kisn and Kksn have been taken away from us twice! I grew up listening to the former, and now that we were happy to have the later bringing the decent music back.. it was sold!!! I guess I won’t listen to radio anymore! I’ll just plug in my CD’s and listen to them! Good-by to radio! We do not need you!

    My ancestry is 1/4 Swedish, 1/4 Danish, and 1/2 Finnish. I think I will erase the Finnish part of me, denouncing and Finnish association if this new owner cannot see what joy the music of Kisn and Kksn had brought a whole lot of people over the years.

    You’re mistaken if you think religion and talk shows are more important than classic rock and oldies… the music of the baby boomer generation, the bulk of today’s population! You’ll never crush our music… you’ll just lose listeners as we all try to find alternatives to your corporation’s choice to take Kisn/Kksn away from us once again!

    Reply
  • 3. Wanda Roleson  |  March 14, 2007 at 6:28 am

    Doesn’t anyone else look at this site? It should be a clue to the new owners that no one has any interest in their “New Format.” No one wants anything to do with the junk you’ve put on the airwaves. Well, I guess I have my own personal site to comment ans vent my frustration ar taking away my Kisn/Kksn and good music!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Wanda Roleson  |  March 24, 2007 at 8:48 am

    WOW!!! What a popular site… no one comes here but me! Yes, you took away KISN/KKSN, and nobody wants to have anything to do with you! They found other stations to listen to. You are a very stupid corporation if you want fans and Loyal listeners. I seem to listen to CD’s rather than find a decent radio station!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Propagation (from N3KL.org)

Solar X-rays
Geomagnetic Field

Archives

Counter (activated 21-03-2009)

free counters