UK’s Ofcom awards new community radio licences

May 24, 2012 at 3:04 pm Leave a comment

Ofcom has announced the award of new community radio licences. Community radio services are provided on a not-for-profit basis focusing on the delivery of specific social benefits to a particular geographical community or a community of interest. The new awards mean that over 250 community radio licences have been awarded, with 198 stations currently on air serving particular community needs.
Ofcom has awarded community radio licences to:

CHBN (Truro, Cornwall)
Penwith Radio (Penzance, Cornwall)
Redruth Radio (Redruth, Cornwall)
Totnes FM (Totnes, Devon)
Bay FM Radio, Exmouth, Devon
Q-mmunity Radio, Crediton, Devon
The Voice, Barnstaple, Bideford & Ilfracombe, North Devon
Pulse, Cheddar Valley, Somerset
Access FM, Bridgwater, Somerset
Apple FM, Taunton, Somerset
Tone FM, Taunton, Somerset
AIR, Weymouth, Dorset
Glan Clwyd AM, Bodelwyddan, Denbighshire
MônFM, Isle of Anglesey
Harlech FM, Harlech, Gwynedd

Exmouth’s Bay FM Radio hopes to be broadcasting full-time by Christmas, but it will be on air for two weeks from May 28 to cover the Exmouth Festival on 107.9 Mhz.

(Ofcom website &


Entry filed under: Europe, FM.

Radio Dacha in Transnistria (Moldova) Polish FM update

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Propagation (from

Solar X-rays
Geomagnetic Field


Counter (activated 21-03-2009)

free counters

%d bloggers like this: