QSL Harvesting in DX Paradise – Oceania

September 11, 2008 at 3:26 pm Leave a comment

Here’s some recent Oceanic verifications received by Arnstein Bue, Norway. Information culled from his blog “DX Paradise”.

1080 Newstalk ZB, Auckland

Peter Casey, Senior Development Engineer at The Radio Network Ltd in Auckland, just confirmed my 16 October 2007 reception of Newstalk ZB, Auckland 1080. Peter told me that the announcer I heard was Kerre Woodham, who I can see and read about on their website at http://www.newstalk.co.nz/. My 7th QSL from New Zealand the last 8 days. This proves that focus is everything, doesn’t it?

1098 Newstalk ZB, Christchurch

This 18 October 2007 (KONG17) catch from New Zealand’s South Island was verified last night when I received a very nice email from Ross McRobie, General Manager of Radio Network in Christchurch. Ross visited Norway at the age of 15, and he has a dream to come again with his wife and drive up north to see the land of the midnight sun – in a MG. Ross is a collector and he kindly attached a photo of one of his cars.

1215 Newstalk ZB, Northland

Murray Madden replied kindly to the email reception report I sent earlier tonight: “I can comfirm reception of NewstalkZB from your MP3 although it takes some concentrated listening”. This one wasn’t easy, so I thank you for your efforts, Murray! Geography is always interesting as well: “The transmitter is based at Ohaeawai which is east of Kaikohe and inland from the famous Bay of Islands”.

1242 1XX One Double X, Whakatane

17 October 2007 also was a great day for DX’ing New Zealand in Kongsfjord, and one of the stations nailed was 1XX One Double X in Whakatane. Even if 100 kW JOLF out of Tokyo made reception of 1XX difficult, Broadcast Engineer Chris Prouse was able to identify the announcer, the station ID jingle and a mention of a small town close by to Whakatane. Education of the young is very important for the future of DX’ing: “We have played the sound bite to some our younger staff who were very excited to learn that the station could be heard on the other side of the world.” Thank you very much, Chris!

1278 Newstalk ZB, Napier

Ross Holden at Newstalk ZB Hawkes Bay confirmed my 16 October 2007 (KONG17) reception in a very nice email, like most New Zealand AM stations do.

1314 Radio New Zealand, Gisborne

Adrian Sainsbury also confirmed my 16 October 2007 reception of Radio New Zealand National from Gisborne on 1314 kHz. Thanks, Adrian!

1341 Newstalk ZB, Nelson

Another one from the South Island! It’s hard to believe, but Newstalk ZB from Nelson was heard with a relatively huge signal on 1341 for more than 30 minutes on 18 October 2007. Mike McElhinney, General Manager of Radio Network in Nelson, sent me a very nice email with a confirmation of my reception. “I have shared your report with our staff who were very excited for you”, he writes, but the pleasure is all mine. This was my MW QSL no. 20 from New Zealand.

1485 Radio Trackside, Gisborne

Radio Trackside, Gisborne, also was a very difficult one, due to NRK Svalbard 1485 which isn’t very far from Kongsfjord. Thanks to Bjarne and OJ for pointing out this NZ station, and great thanks to Richard Ellerington, Broadcast Operations Manager, for confirming my reception. My MW NZ #25.

1548 Radio Trackside, Rotorua

This 990 watts New Zealand transmitter was heard quite well in Kongsfjord in Arctic Norway on 17 October 2007. I sent my reception report last night, and when I woke up today I had received a nice email from Richard Ellerington, Broadcast Operations Manager, kindly confirming my reception.

1683 Radio Club 1683 AM

In some mysteriuos way a verification letter, written to me but headed for jari.korhonen@pp.inet.fi, came to me via the web master of kongsfjord.no tonight. Anyway, thanks a lot to Con Nikolis, Manager of the Greek Radio Station of Australia, for confirming my 13 October 2007 reception of Radio Club AM 1683. And thanks to webmaster OJ for forwarding my QSL.

1701 Radio Brisvaani, Brisbane

Late in the evening I received a very nice email from Jatish Puran, Managing Director of Radio Brisvaani 1701AM PTY LTD, confirming my reception of Radio Brisvaani on 13 October 2007 (KONG17): “[…] It was definitely radio Brisvaani that you were listening to. I also played it on air to let my listeners know that we reach so far”. On 15 January Jatish Puran phoned me, and I was interviewed live on his morning show. Very nice! The station has a live feed and a nice web page: http://www.brisvaani.com/ Thanks a lot, Jatish!

Entry filed under: Medium Wave, Oceania, QSL'ing. Tags: .

QSL Harvesting in DX Paradise – Mexico New AFN mediumwave transmitter goes live in Germany

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Propagation (from N3KL.org)

Solar X-rays
Geomagnetic Field

Archives

Counter (activated 21-03-2009)

free counters

