KKFN Denver 950 AM is now KRWZ Cruisin Oldies

September 5, 2008 at 11:38 am 57 comments

As of 02 September KKFN 950 is back playing 50’s & 60’s Oldies. The new call letters KRWZ. Sports KKFN-AM/Denver is now KRWZ (Cruisin Oldies 950) as it splits from simulcast partner KKFN-FM. “It’s clear as we talked to AM radio listeners, there are plenty of Talk stations — Sports, liberal, conservative, and everything else between,” said Lincoln Financial/Colorado SVP/Gm Robert Call. “What those listeners did tell us is that there’s a whole body of music missing from the radio dial — music from an era that changed a generation.” Cruisin is launching jockless and commercial-free, with 9,500 songs in a row.

(RadioInsight Forum & RadioInk)

Entry filed under: Medium Wave, North America. Tags: .

UK’s Virgin Radio to rebrand as Absolute Radio Netherlands AM update

57 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mike  |  September 11, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    I’m almost 56 and it’s great having a new “geratric” station in Denver playing songs I listened to in grade schol through high school! I use to listen to KIMN radio 95 back when Steve Kelly and Ed Green were both DJs and loved it. I like your format better than KOOL 105 with the exception of the Boogie Man!

    Mike

    Reply
  • 2. Mike H  |  September 12, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    This is the way an oldies station should be. Great music and great old time jingles, keep it coming. By the way how can I send someone at the station an email.

    Reply
  • 3. Lynne Davis  |  September 15, 2008 at 4:20 am

    My husband found this great station-I am really glad. i was so tired of the talk shows and FM 105,1!! Keep up the good work! Lynne

    Reply
  • 4. Beth  |  September 15, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Love the station. I am very disappointed in the Kool 105FM format. I am so glad I found your station. I love it!

    Reply
  • 5. rick  |  September 16, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Im sooo glad to have an AM radio station that acutally plays MUSIC! What a treat!

    Reply
  • 6. Chris  |  September 17, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    Yahoooo, finally a good radio station in Denver, thanks guys!!

    Reply
  • 7. Stephen Thompson  |  September 18, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    My wife and I are restoring her 1967 Mustang which she purchased right out of high school. Since it only has an AM radio, it was getting pretting boring listening to talk radio when ever we took it out for a drive. Glad to have you back.

    Stephen

    Reply
  • 8. Marilyn  |  September 18, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Thank you. We need a station that plays 50’s & 60’s. I can give my husband back his XM radio.Denver radio is complete again. 50′ and 60’s music rule. Please keep it up. I tell all my friends about Cruisin’ Oldies AM 950.

    Reply
  • 9. Bruce  |  September 19, 2008 at 12:49 am

    KOOL 105 sucks. You guys rock! Thank you, thank you, thank you. Any chance you could make it to the FM dial?
    Don’t ever go away!

    Reply
  • 10. cruisin dude  |  September 19, 2008 at 10:02 am

    so when do they complete the circle & allow us to download
    crusin tunes as mp3 @ a website ???????????????????????????????????????????????????

    Reply
  • 11. Bob  |  September 20, 2008 at 3:12 am

    I listened to your station for the first time. I now have my radio tuned in to your station. Best radio station, ever.

    Reply
  • 12. Michael  |  September 21, 2008 at 5:59 am

    I also grew up with The Denver Tiger, KIMN 950. Then I found KOOL 105 and things were good again. Then, they added the sucky Disco 80’s to their format. That’s not music to me. Your station is the definitve essence of what oldies truly are. KOOL, you could take a lesson from this. Love your 50’s/60’s format, Cruisin 950…please stay around for a long long time
    Thank You!!!

    Reply
  • 13. Scott  |  September 22, 2008 at 5:54 am

    Excellent music reminds me of KIMN. Just get the Boogie Man back to the Mighty 950!

    Reply
  • 14. Dave  |  September 22, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    Great music. Need to dial bak a bit on the repeats, and thin out the bubble gum music.

    Reply
  • 15. Lynn  |  September 23, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    I was thrilled to discover your station. Listening to the
    great music at every opportunity. What a treat!
    Thank you.

    Reply
  • 16. Yolanda  |  September 24, 2008 at 1:14 am

    Found it by accident……….AND it rocks. I just flicked my office radio 1 click past the FM and hit a gold mine. ALL the oldies we NEVER get to hear. I’m lovin it……..Now we just need a great old DJ…………….My vote goes to Wild Bill Cody!!!!!!!!! He’s geriatric like the rest of us, but he ROCKS!!!!!!! (sorry Bill if you read this.) Don’t take it personal.

    Reply
  • 17. Crissie  |  September 24, 2008 at 5:26 am

    I LOVE this station!!!!!!!!! what an amazing perfect line up of songs of m life Ever song is a memory and a smile. songs I NEVER hear anwhere else. perfect perfect perfect…….

    Reply
  • 18. Crissie  |  September 24, 2008 at 5:27 am

    Where can I stream it on my mac?????? I don’t see it on itunes…..

    Reply
  • 19. Crissie  |  September 24, 2008 at 5:45 am

    another fabulous song!!!! how can i call this station and tell you how amazing you are??? you don’t even have a website???!!!!!
    you so rock, can i come work for you?

    Reply
  • 20. Natalie  |  September 24, 2008 at 7:01 am

    After writing many complaints to KOOL and the Boogieman for playing 80’s and abandoning 50s/early 60s, 950 makes it a pleasure to drive again. I thought it was tragic that Elvis, the Everlys, Shirelles, Roy Orbison, Buddy Holly, were getting no airplay. No need to ever listen to KOOL, the inane DJs and commercials again.

    Reply
  • 21. chuck  |  September 24, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    i agree with natalie – i sent many complaints to kool. it was like getting invited to someones house to listen to music and all the hosts did was talk about them selves and then play bad music.

    thanks and if you add jocks – focus on the music not them..

    thank you thank you thank you….

    Reply
  • 22. Dana  |  September 26, 2008 at 2:51 am

    I grew up listening to the good old KIMN 950 AM in it’s heyday of the mid 60’s all the way through Danny Davis, Steve Kelley,Ed Greene, the late great Paxton Mills and remember its last day on the air- what great news, after alll this time, to have the Great 950 playing great music from those years once again! The only thing that would make it better is if some of those same DJs from the great years past would make some surprise guest appearances on air and relive some of those great old memories onair.

    Reply
  • 23. Greg  |  September 29, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Thank you, for the TRUE Oldies – I could not believe hearing “Rumble” the other day by Link Wray & his Wray Men –

    You guys rule !

    Reply
  • 24. mary pijanowski  |  September 30, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    It is so great to have Hal Moore back! I moved to denver in 1971, and immediately found KHOW, and listened to it exclusively. When Hal left KHOW, I tracked him around the various stations around town, and was very sorry when he left the Denver area. I couldn’t believe it when I happened to hear him on a radio station in Louisiana, and then in Bangor, Maine.

    WELCOME BACK HAL!

    Reply
  • 25. R.J. Loomis  |  October 1, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Great to hear Hal Moore again Used to listen to him on KHOW untill they went to hell . Great music love it.

    Reply
  • 26. Susan  |  October 2, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    I just love your radio station. It’s about time someone played the oldies. I would love to hear more of the late 50’s and early 60’s and more Doo Wop. Thank you, thank you! Let’s not forget this music, its what we grew up on.

    Reply
  • 27. Ray Uthe  |  October 9, 2008 at 2:32 am

    I was very disappointed when kool 105.1 changed their format. They sound like about 6 or 7 other stations in the Denver market, and left no real oldies station. Your station is great, although I have to say it would sound better on FM, but hey I,ll listen, I do not listen to kool at all anymore, so I hope you stick around for awhile.

    Reply
  • 28. BILL  |  October 14, 2008 at 8:18 am

    TO DAVE COMMENT 14 THATS THE WAY AM RADIO WAS BACK THEN I HOPE IT STAY IF YOU DONT LIKE IT THERES KRUD 105 FOR YOU

    Reply
  • 29. Brian  |  October 24, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    What a treat to hear these great songs of the 50’s and 60’s. Boogieman and Bill Cody would fit right in. Keep this awesome music coming. When will your website be up and running?

    Reply
  • 30. Jerry Lee  |  October 27, 2008 at 1:48 am

    I sure hope CRUSIN OLDIES 950 go live stream over the Internet, they have the real OLDIES not like KOOL Radio and I also grew up KIMN Radio. I remember them being over my Sloan lake.. back in the 60’s Thanx

    Reply
  • 31. Frank Labor  |  October 27, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    So great to hear the real oldies again, and to my surprise Hal is back in/on the AM. So great to hear a real oldies disc jockey (the music not the jockey) Let me know if you will have a guest spot with Charlie. Can’t wait to hear “If I had a wagon” at 5:00 PM again. Love it! Keep up the great work!

    Reply
  • 32. frank  |  November 1, 2008 at 4:19 am

    Found it by accident down here in Rye south of Pueblo,great,don`t mind some of the early 70`s stuff though,I`m “only” 56…

    Reply
  • 33. Larry  |  November 4, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Its about time we got a real oldies station back in Denver. Good bye not so Kool 105.

    Reply
  • 34. Walter Marciniak  |  November 5, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    I live in the mountains and reception is poor to non existant. When do you start streaming on the internet.

    Reply
  • 35. tj pohl  |  November 12, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    Can the station be broadcasted on the WEB? AM reception in Wyoming is gone with the wind some days and the computer has clear reception.

    Thanks!

    Reply
  • 36. Jean  |  November 22, 2008 at 6:01 am

    This station ROCKS!! Thank you so much for coming back to us with the best music EVER! From KIMN Denver 95 in the 60’s to Cruisin Oldies 950. I love it!!

    Reply
  • 37. Alvin  |  November 22, 2008 at 7:56 am

    Please… tell us what as listeners, we can do to help you grow. Other venues in our area have changed to meet the music industry polls. We have not, nor will we, change our listening habits. That said, what can we do to support you? Bumper stickers, lapel pins? We are here to support you, help you grow, whatever it takes. Thank you for becoming the station we needed.
    Sincerely
    Alvin Kitzmann

    Reply
  • 38. leonard  |  November 29, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    great station i hope it wont be long till you get a website up so we can listen online. thanks

    Reply
  • 39. Jamie  |  December 8, 2008 at 2:43 am

    So so glad we found you. So tired of Kool 105 and what they call oldies. Any chance you may come out in the future on FM format?

    Reply
  • 40. Powell  |  December 10, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Haven’t turned my radio on much these days, I got tired of all the stupid morning shows like Lois and FloorJack and the sounds the other stations are playing that remind me of sick whales dying on the beach…Welcome Back!!!!

    Reply
  • 41. Don Scheel  |  December 17, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    We love your music and try to listen whenever possible. Most often however, when I turn to your station I’m hearing late 60s music instead of 50s and early 60s. The music Boogie Man use to play was our era. When you play late 60s, etc., the music is the same as 105.1 FM which doesn’t cut it for us. Denver needs a station that gets back to our old music, doo-wop, Elvis, etc.
    Thanks for this opportunity to advise.

    Reply
  • 42. Keevan  |  December 20, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    Rock-n-Roll never went away since it was invented. Ask my kids and grandkids, they love it. Have you paid attention to the TV commercials over these many years that have used the music of the era as part of it? Glad there’s a place on my radio dial to listen to MY music these days. Brings back memories of sitting in my ’57 DeSoto Fireflight convertible listening to it.

    Reply
  • 43. Clyde Camel  |  December 24, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Me and Ahab agree the time is right for 950 AM. All good all the time – Hal Moore and Randy J particularly strong. Wolfman Jack a treat but I imagine its all recorded from days gone by. Only suggestion is the Program Director needs to change up the songs more frequently than weekly – lots of repeats heard if one listens 6am to 6pm like myself. Maybe album sides from vinyl to break it up a little bit. Keep it fresh and we will be back for more!

    Reply
  • 44. Steve Hickman  |  January 15, 2009 at 10:56 am

    Now that you have the music right, go find the Boogieman.

    Reply
  • 45. Dana  |  February 7, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    Now that AM950 is back on the airwaves, the only person missing from their lineup is Steve Kelley, a Denver radio legend. (Unless they can lure Danny Davis back from Phoenix).

    Reply
  • 46. Ray  |  February 14, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Great to have a new oldies station. After I found your station I changed all my radios off 105, I was so sick of their format. I would wake up two or three days a week to the same song and I knew what the next four or five songs would be. Please do it like the old days and stay away from the set play lists so many stations are now using. Those of us who listened to this great music on our 8 transister radios love the music and love the memories.

    Reply
  • 47. Sylvia LeClair  |  February 19, 2009 at 4:38 am

    Love the station! Please play ” Running on Empty ” by Jackson Browne , Hal. Thank you, Sylvia In Strasburg

    Reply
  • 48. ron wolford  |  April 11, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    does your station have bumper stickers thank you

    Reply
  • 49. Tom  |  May 15, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    Wow!!! What a nice treat to have this station on the air playing real genuine ” oldies ” !! Found you by accident, But I ripped off the station changing knob and have been listening ever since!! Keep up the GREAT work!! Don’t change a thing !! As someone wrote in earlier… Anything you need your listeners to do to promote this station, ie. bumper stickers or signs let us all know!!! This station was badly needed in this town… We don’t want you going anywhere, except straight into ‘ THE BEST RADIO STATION IN DENVER” bracket!!!

    Reply
  • 50. TonyC  |  June 24, 2009 at 12:58 am

    Great hearing Randy J back on the box. Already reset all my presets. Let’s go Crzn’

    Reply
  • 51. Rita  |  July 9, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    I have been a follower of KIMN, KHOW and really want to know what happened to Charlie. Hal and Charlie got me goin’ in the am with all the comedy and many inuendo’s – SOOO glad to have found you again.

    Reply
  • 52. Martha Freeman  |  October 2, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    hi – this is for Hal – love your show and station! So glad that Archer landed here for Saturday Beatles! Since you’ve asked for ideas of songs that could be played, I wanted to suggest The Status Quo – Pictures of Matchstick Men as well as My Pledge of Love as 2 songs that I’d love to hear from time to time. I’m more inclined toward 60’s v 50’s so would love to hear more 60’s stuff! Keep up the great work! I’m so glad I found the station! Martha

    Reply
  • 53. c.a.powell  |  October 30, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    would somebody please tell the fools in denver that it’s not ok and is still illegal to run a stop light and or stop sign, espcially when it’s snowing and icey

    Reply
  • 54. Vera Vigil  |  November 25, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    I love your radio station. I enjoy listening to do-wop music. I just wish I could listen to you all online. My radio at work doesn’t get your station clear. Keep up the good work.

    Reply
  • 55. Bill Campos  |  March 21, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    If only I could here it clearly in the springs. I love cruisin’ oldies but but the AM signal can only travel so far. Any plans to hear it online???

    Reply
  • 56. Sylvia Rhodes  |  August 4, 2010 at 1:29 am

    I love, love, love your music, sure beats KOOL. Keep up the great tunes and the limited interruptions. I feel like I am back at North High School and listening to KIMN. Oh my, sooooo many years ago, surprised I can still sing along. Funny how I can’t remember sh## but can still remember the words to all of those songs.

    Reply
  • 57. ask  |  April 21, 2015 at 12:38 am

    Wow, that’s what I was searching for, what a material!
    present here at this weblog, thanks admin of this web site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Propagation (from N3KL.org)

Solar X-rays
Geomagnetic Field

Archives

Counter (activated 21-03-2009)

free counters

