NA QSL’s part 2

January 17, 2008 at 2:31 pm 1 comment

1220 KPJC Salem OR. In a very nice email tonight, Janene Pendergrass, Office Manager at The JC Media Group, kindly confirmed my 14 October 2007 receiption of KPJC Salem OR 1220. I’ve been hunting this station, formerly named KCCS, the past few years.
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1230 KHDN Hardin MT. Nice e-mail from Rich Solberg. Heard this one during LEM241 when they were broadcasting their local weather forecast. Mr. Solberg told me that the announcer on my clip was a one time only weekend announcer Ron Adams.
(JSN via PUDXK Blog)

1230 WJOY Burlington, VT. WJOY was briefly heard on the 24th October (AND1) and Dennis Snyder, Dir. of Engineering verified my report with a e-mail this afternoon.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1230 WCMC Wildwood NJ. WCMC was heard with a brief signal at top of the houer on October 24th 2007 (AND1). Today President Gary Fisher verified my report with an e-mail. NJ is not so easy to hear so glad to receive a new one!
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1240 KSMA Santa Maria CA. 1240 was heard on 21 October 2007 – a quite “bad” day on KONG17. So they suprised a lot! Tonight Nick “Danger” LeDuff kindly confirmed my reception. Thanks, Nick!
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1240 KGY Olympia, WA. E-mail from Dennis Brown at KGY verified my October 2006 (KONG14) report this evening. Heard KGY briefly on October 12th with a TOH identification. Dennis promissed to send me som bumper stickers by snail mail.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1250 KWSU Pullman WA 1250. Very nice e-mail from Dennis Haarsager verified my October 21st 2007 (AND1) report yesterday evening. I heard KWSU with a fair signal as early as 0159UTC. Dennis is of Norwegian heritage and has been the General Manager for KWSU 29 years and finally received a report from Norway last week. First report from OJ Sagdahl (witch Dennis is in family with!). OJ heard KWSU in Kongsfjord the same day as I did at Andoya. Dennis have been a BC-DX-er and have a ham licence (N7DH). Thank you for a very nice verification Dennis!
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1250 WHNZ Tampa FL. WHNZ, one of Clear Channel stations in Tampa, returned my PFC with signature (v/s illegible) after follow up. Prior to the arrival, Gordon L Byrd sent me an E-mail notice that they have returned my PFC.
(Radio World)

1260 CKHJ Fredricton NB. CKHJ popped up with a “KHJ Today’s country” identification on October 24th 2007 (AND1). Tom Blizzard, Program Director verified my report this afternoon with a QSL-letter and logo attached to an e-mail. Thank you for a nice QSL Tom.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1260 WNDE Indianapolis IN. Chris Geisen, Program Director of WNDE 1260 returned my PFC with signature. WNDE is Clear Channel station, and “Indianapolis Sports Radio”.
(Radio World)

1260 WSUA Miami FL. WSUA was heard with a fair signal on top of the houer with a “WSUA 12-60 AM in Miami” and a promo for “Hoy por hoy en Radio CARACOL Miami 12-60 AM”. Vice President/General Manager Tomas Martinez verified my report this afternoon with an e-mail and a 16 pages presentation about WSUA. Thank you for a nice verification Tomas.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1270 KIML Gillette WY. E-mail from John English and afterwards a card from their CE.
(JSN via PUDXK Blog)

1270 WTSN Dover NH. Very nice letter from Chief Engineer Mark A. Ward verified my October 24th reception (AND1) reception of WTSN. Heard WTSN with a fair signal with commercial and ToH identification. WTSN transmits 5400 watts 24 hours a day, into a 4-tower parallelogram array. Mark is a ham-operator with the call WA1OPL. Thank you for a informative verification Mark!
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1280 KIT Yakima WA. KIT has been on my “Wanted list” and finaly during AND1 they came trough with a good signal on October 25th. They ending news with ID and weather forcast. Dave Ettl, Programe Director sent me a nice e-mail verifying my report this evening. They slogan is “The Source”. Thank you for a new WA to my collection Dave!
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1300 KGLO Mason City IA. E-mail. Finally got this one! I’ve sent several reports to them over the past years. Now Mr. Solko CE kindly closed this case.
(JSN via PUDXK Blog)

1300 WJDA Quincy MA. It was quite a surprise to pick up this station during KONG17, because Kongsfjord isn’t known as a very good QTH for DX’ing east coast NA stations. Today former owner James Asher kindly sent me an email confirming my 14 October 2007 reception.
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1300 WFFG Marathon FL. WFFG was briefly heard in a jumble of stations on the 24th October 2007 (AND1). Joe Nascone kindly verified my report today. He also promoting their internet streaming on: WWW.FloridaKeysRadio.com.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1310 KFKA Greeley, CO. KFKA was heard with a weak but clear identification on the 21st October 2007 (AND1). Justin Sasso, Owner/General Manager kindly verified my report this morning.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1310 KZXR Prosser WA. Jim Muir, Account Executive at Churchill Media, the company which owns KZXR, just sent me a most appreciated e-mail in response to a follow-up. In his e-mail, he confirmed my October 17, 2007 reception of KZXR. As far as I know, the station was heard only once during the KONG17 DXpedition. Thank you, Mr. Muir.
(TJ’s DX Place)

1310 WCCW Traverse City, MI. Brian R. Hale, Operation Manager sent me a verification letter attached to an e-mail. Heard WCCW on the 20th October with a “This is Real American Radio” and “…13-10 WCCW” identification. Thanks for a nice verification Brian.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1330 KWKW Los Angeles CA. KWKW is Spanish ESPN Radio (ESPN Deportes Radio). Juan I Rodriguez, Program/Operations Director, kindly confirms my reception of KWKW during my visit in San Diego.
(Radio World)

1330 WFNN Erie PA. Heard a few times during KONG17, though this reception in particular was just after the expedition ended on October 24. A superb signal at the time. Charles G. Lelievre emailed a confirmation to me this afternoon; also attached several pictures from the station, one of which is a studio picture you see above. Thanks JA for the email address.
(Arctic DX -blog)

1350 WKCU Corinth MS. A very nice station to my collection today when I got this email from Jimmy Anderson, Station Manager at WKCU Corinth MS 1350. This station was an excellent catch during KONG17 (17 October 2007). Thanks, Jimmy!
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1350 KSRO Santa Rosa CA. Even October 19 gave a few interesting catches in Kongsfjord. A first time catch for me was KSRO Santa Rosa CA 1350. Heard with a station identification as they just should return back to Coast to coast AM, I decided to send away a report.
(TJ’s DX Place)

1360 KHNC Johnstown CO. “Dear Arnstein Bue and our other friends in Norway …” Promotions Director/Host Danette Golden starts her nice email tonight, also confirming my 16 October 2007 (KONG17) reception of KHNC Johnstown CO 1360. Thanks a lot, Dani!
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1360 KKBJ Bemidji MN. Relatively quiet in my inbox most recently, if ‘quiet’ is a relevant term to describe the current state in an inbox.🙂 Now, well, the silence and boredom was broken for a while yesterday evening, when I received an e-mail from Dan Voss, Chief Engineer at KKBJ Bemidji MN. He kindly confirmed my October 15 (October 14 according to CDT) 2007 reception of the station. KKBJ was heard with a fair to good signal several times during KONG17.
(TJ’s DX Place)

1360 WKAT North Miami FL. Stephen A James, Operation Manager of WKAT, sent me a partial data confiramtion letter. Their slogan is “South Florida’s Christian Talk” “Life Changing Radio.
(Radio World)

1370 KAST Astoria OR. KAST was heard with a fair signal 2 times on October 25th 2007 (AND1). Operations Manager Tom Freel verified my report this evening with a perfect verification text in a e-mail.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1380 WMYF Portsmouth NH. Jeff Pierce, Operations Manager verified my WMYF report with an e-mail this evening. WMYF faded trough a strong CKLC with a nice “..here is AM 13-80 WMYF” ID on October 24th AND1.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1390 WRIG Schofield WI. E-mail after f/up. Finally got this one! V/s Ken Clark PD.
(JSN via PUDXK Blog)

1400 KUKI Ukiah CA. E-mail from George Feola at KUKI verified my October 25th AND1 report today. KUKI was heard fairly well with it’s mexican style music programme.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1420 KUJ Walla Walle WA. Chris Gilbreth gave me my QSL no. 50 from Washington when he confirmed my KONG17 reception of KUJ Walla Walle WA 1420 in a very nice email tonight. He adds: “Your reception is even more incredible because KUJ is not operating at full power, probably more like 2kw.”
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1430 KYKN Keizer OR. Another Oregon station found its way to my inbox when I received a short but correct email from Mike Frith, confirming my 17 October (KONG17 of course) reception of KYKN Keizer OR 1430 – probably one of the ‘easiest’ Oregon station I hadn’t heard.
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1440 WGEM Quincy IL. Address: 513 Hampshire St Quincy, IL 62306-0080. PG-CO,9-04. Attn:Jay Sade, CE
(DX Mid-America)

1450 KLBM La Grande OR. In just 36 minutes Evan Yeoman replied to my email report with an email confirming my reception. The station was heard on 14 October 2007 (KONG17) with a nice ID at 0900 UTC: ‘Serving Eastern Oregon 24/7. KBKR Baker City, KLBM La Grande. Talk Radio’. Thank you, Evan!
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1460 KXNO Des Moines IA. Pam Lee, Sales Assistant/Office Manager at KXNO 1460 sent me an e-mail with an image of their QSL card with a full data verification text a few days ago. This was yet another verification of a station heard during KONG15, quite exactly one year ago. Thank you, Pam.
(TJ’s DX Place)

1470 WNYY ITHACA, NY. WNYY “Progressive Talk” 1470 was heard with a good signal in the morning of October 24th (AND1). Susan Johnston, General Manager for Cayuga Radio Group (witch also own WHCU 870) verified my report yesterday evening. This have been a very good week for New York QSL’s!
(TJ’s DX Place)

1480 KAUS Austin MN. This 22 October 2005 (KONG13) catch took a long time to get a confirmation from, but this night I finally got a very nice email from Robert Mithuen, Excutive Vice President and Market Manager of Three Eagles Communications, confirming my reception.
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1480 KBMS Vancouver WA. Brief e-mail from Station Manager Angela Jenkins verified my October 25th 2007 (AND1) report this morning. KBMS was heard with a fair signal a couple of times that morning.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1490 WOLF Syracuse, NY. Brief e-mail from Sammy at WOLF Radio Disney 14-90 verified my October 24th (AND1) report this evening, Thank’s to Jan Alvestad for submiting a correct e-mail adresse!
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1540 WDCD New York NY. By no means an uncommon station, although CHIN and KXEL are much more dominant here, but I sort of never got round to make efforts to verify WDCD. An excellent full-hour ID recorded to the SDR-IQ on October 13 just couldn’t be archieved without trying though, and today PD Peter Kaye confirmed my report.
(Arctic DX -blog)

1520 KOKC Oklahoma City OK. Jay Perkey, Program Coordinator of KOKC, kindly sent me an E-mail confirming my reception of KOKC during my visit to Denver last October.
(Radio World)

1520 KRHW Sikestone MO. Smokey King, Chief Enginer verified my October 24th (AND1) report this evening. KRHW was heard with 2 nice “15-20 KRHW” identifications in a WWKB fade. Thanks to Jan Alvestad for v/s information.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1550 KRPI Ferndale WA. I heard KRPI during KONG14 in October 2006. The ID was mixed up with the ID of KKAD Vancouver, WA. Nice e-mail from AC7OB David Harris, Chief Engineer verified my report this evening. He also promise to send a QSL-card if I send appropriade postage to: KRPI, P.O. Box 3213, Ferndale, WA. Nice start of 2008!
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1550 WDZK Bloomfield CT. WDZK was heard under CBE Windsor, ON for more than 1 hour on October 24th (AND1). Radio Disney 15-50 AM belongs to the Walt Disney Company and Station Manager Paul O. Robertson kindly verified my report this evening. Thank you for the verification Paul, one of the better stations heard on AND1.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1570 WFLR Dundee NY. Another nice NY station witch was heard on the AND1 expedition. As early as 2135 UTC on the evening the 24th October WFLR faded up with nice “Finger Lakes News Radio” identification. Alan Bishop (who also verified my WAUB 1590 report) sent me an e-mail this evening verifying my report.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1580 KKKK Colorado Springs CO. Nice e-mail from Producer Brooke Belson verified my October 25th 2007 (AND1) report to day. KKKK was heard with a suprisigly strong signal for some minutes this morning. KKKK belogs to the Colorado Radio Network
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1590 KELP El Paso TX. Heard on Oct 17, it all started as an unidentified jingle on top of the hour way below KLFE’s excellent signal. Unable to resolve the jingle I posted it on the RealDX reflector where help was imminent thanks to Torolf Johnsson’s suggestion that I had heard “El Paso’s Christian Station, KELP”. I checked with KELP’s webcast, and their full hour id was identical. Email from PD Jay Gilliland this morning confirmed my reception. Very satisfied with this one! Heard on Icom IC-746Pro
(Arctic DX -blog)

1590 WAUB Auburn NY. This one came as a surprise since conditions were quite on the “dull” side on October 13 – again one has to expect the unexpected. Weak on top of the hour but a relatively clear ID mixed with WTVB Coldwater MI. Very quick email response from Managing Partner Alan Bishop today. A new station for me, and my second Finger Lakes Network station (WFLR-1570 heard a few years ago). WTVB is not new but I haven’t heard them for at least three years. Receiver: RF Space SDR-IQ.
(Arctic DX -blog)

1600 1600 KCRG Cedar Rapids IA. Address: 501 2nd Ave SE, Cedar Rapids 52401, v/s Demetrios Hadjis, Dir of Sales & Client Relations.
(DX Mid-America)

1630 KCJJ Iowa City IA. Tom Suter, General Manager at KCJJ verified my October 6th 2006 (KONG14) report this evening. KCJJ is a common station and I have tried several reports before. Finaly I received a verification. Thank you Tom.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1660 WWRU Jersey City NJ. WWRU is not difficult to hear at my location. During the years I have tried to send them many reports but with no luck until this evening. George D. Butch, Regional Engineer verified my January 7, 2007 report with a nice e-mail.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1700 KVNS Brownsville TX. Address: 901 East Pike Blvd. Weslaco, TX 78596. c/o:John Munoz, IT Manager, Asst.Engineer.
(DX Mid-America)

Entry filed under: Medium Wave, North America, QSL'ing. Tags: .

NA QSL’s part 1 Solomon Islands BC website

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. joseramon  |  January 17, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    GREAT MUSIC GOOD OLD TIMES ,,,, NEVER BORING

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Propagation (from N3KL.org)

Solar X-rays
Geomagnetic Field

Archives

Counter (activated 21-03-2009)

free counters

