NA QSL Harvest

October 18, 2007 at 9:45 am 2 comments

550 KFYR Bismarck ND – Nice e-mail from Program Director Ken Jameson confirmed my October 2006 reception. again a station heard during the KONG15 DXpedition.
(TJ’s DX Place)

560 KMON Great Falls, MT – Very nice e-mail from Gregory Muir, Chief Engineer at Cherry Creek Radio verified my October 6th 2006 (KONG14) report tonight. They own 61 AM/FM stations in 8 western states. In the very informative mail he also mention: “I am currently in the process of generating a “QSL CD” which I hope to have completed by no later than this coming fall.”. Gregory is a DX-er but due to a lot of work as an engineer he have not mutch time for the hobby at the moment. Thank you for a very nice verie Gregory!
(Ole’s DX-blog)

560 WIND Chicago, IL – E-mail from Paul Easter verified my October 2006 (KONG14) report this evening. WIND was heard with a good signal in Kongsfjord. Thanks to Bjarne Mjelde for giving Pauls e-mail address. Thank you Paul for the verification
(Ole’s DX-blog)

610 KDAL Duluth MN – Email from Brad Bennett, host of a 10-12 pm talk show at KDAL, confirmed my reception of the station this evening. I heard KDAL about a year ago; not very strong but a first time for me.
(Arctic DX -blog)

610 WIOD Miami FL – ‘Very cool. Thanks for letting us know!’ are the words Program Director Ken Charles of 610 WIOD are using when replying to my reception report. Not a perfect verifying text, but I’ll still count this as a QSL. WIOD is a station which is frequently heard at Lista, and I have also logged the station at my home QTH.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

620 CKRM Regina, SK – Willy Cole, Program Manager verified my October 6th (KONG14) report this evening. My Canadian AM station nr. 130. Willy say CKRM don’t have any QSL-card anymore buth hope an e-mail will suffice.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

640 CBN St. John’s NL – Keith Durnford at CBC Newfoundland sent me an e-mail verifying my report to CBN in St. John’s, Newfoundland on 640 kHz. CBN is an easy catch at Lista and I have also heard this station on my modest longwire antennas at home on several occacions. CBN usually has a weaker signal than CBG in Gander on 1400 kHz though.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

640 KYUK Bethel AK – Nice e-mail this morning from Chief Engineer Joseph Seibert who confirmed my reception of KYUK in October 2006. 2nd verified Alaska station in quite short time. Let’s hope it continues that way – I have more reception reports out. 🙂
(TJ’s DX Place)

700 KBYR Anchorage AK – KBYR puts out one of the strongest Alaskan signals into Northern Scandinavia, but was unwilling to respond to reports for many years. Not so today, as GM Justin McDonald responds to emailed reports with a form letter and a KBYR logo jpg attached. KBYR is locally owned and uses the “Smart Radio” moniker. My 30th Alaska verie of 35 reported.
(Arctic DX -blog)

710 WOR New York NY – Corporate Director of Engineering, Thomas R Ray, verified my PAX54 report with an old fashioned QSL-card.
(Christer’s Radio Blog)

770 KKOB Albuquerque NM – New state! I have really been waiting for this one, and finally … After several attempts via e-mail, I finally sent the station a letter via the royal old postal service, with a CD enclosed. And this time it worked! I just received a most positive e-mail from Patrick Frisch, AM Operations program Manager,
(TJ’s DX Place)

810 KGO San Fransisco, CA – Friendly e-mail from Chief Engineer Joe Talbot verified my October 6th 2006 (KONG14) report this morning. He ends his mail with: “I would love to visit your reception site sometime as an avid DX’er myself.”
(Ole’s DX-blog)

820 WBAP Fort Worth TX – Brief but nice and full data verification letter from Neal Peden, Director of Engineering, confirming my reception in October 2004 during KONG10. This was also a response to a follow-up.
(TJ’s DX Place)

830 CKKY Wainwright, AB – My second Canadian verification within 4 minutes came from Paul O’Neil, Program Director at “Key 83” Wainwrighet, Alberta. Heard CKKY with a good signal October 8th 2006 during KONG14. Thank’s to OJ Sagdahl for submiting Paul’s e-mail adresse!
(Ole’s DX-blog)

830 WCRN Worcester MA – Chief Engineer Steven Callahan of WCRN in Worcester, Massachusetts, sent me a very kind letter confirming my reception of the station on the February 2006 DX-pedition at Lista. Back in February 2006, WCRN was heard with a «True Oldies» format but the station has now changed into a talk station. Steven says WCRN increased their nighttime power from 5 kilowatts to 50 kilowatts in April 2007 and predicts that reception of WCRN on their frequency of 830 kHz should improve greatly.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

870 KLSQ Whitney NV – Dana Demerjian, GM Univision Radio Las Vegas, kindly confirmed my reception of “Recuerdos 870” after checking my reception report with their engineer.
Thanks a lot, Dana!
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

880 WCBS New York NY – Immediate reply from Rob Bertrand, Technician, at WCBS in New York verifying my reception of WCBS in October 2005 when I heard them with a good signal at home on a modest 70 metre longwire antenna at sunrise. WCBS is heard frequently here, but their signal seldom rivals the signal strength of some of the other New York AM stations, like 1130 WBBR or 1560 WQEW.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

890 KBBI Homer AK – Nice e-mail from Dorle Scholz, business manager at KBBI, arrived yesterday. In his e-mail, he confirms my reception of KBBI on October 22, 2006, during the KONG15 DXpedition. KBBI is one of these NPR stations that seems to give an ID only occasionally. I have heard the station a couple of times
(TJ’s DX Place)

920 KXLY Spokane WA – Second QSL today! I just received the verification to another KONG15 reception report. This time a brief e-mail from Program Director Bud Nameck at KXLY confirmed my reception of that station on October 19, 2006.
(TJ’s DX Place)

950 KJR Seattle, WA – Very brief e-mail from Rich Moore verified my October 10th 2006 (KONG14) report this evening. Heard KJR with a very good signal promoting “The Gas Man” show. WA station nr. 30 verified.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

950 KKFN Denver CO – I received a very nice reply tonight from Gary Nakashima, just a few days after I sent my 2004 reception report. Thanks to Ole Forr for providing his name.
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

980 CKRU Peterborough, ON – Brian Ellis, Program Director verified my January 28th report this afternoon. I heard “98 The Kruz” during a dx-pedition to Lista on the south-west coast of Norway. My 25th Ontario station verified.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1070 CFAX Victoria, BC – General Manager Terry Spence verified my October 6th 2006 (KONG14) report with an e-mail this morning. Heard a “You’re listening to Coast to Coast AM on C-Fax 10-70” identification on top of the hour with a good signal. Thank you for a new one Terry.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1070 KNX Los Angeles CA – Third day in a row bringing a verification. This time an e-mail from Paul H. Sakrison, Chief Engineer at KNX, confirming my October 2006 reception. Thank you, Paul. All the three latest QSL are responses to a bunch of reminders I sent this Monday. I still have some more out, so who knows?
(TJ’s DX Place)

1080 KUDO Anchorage, AK – Brief e-mail from Mike W. Robbins verified my October 7th 2006 (KONG14) report. Again thanks to OJS for the e-mail adresse. KUDO is one of the “power house” stations from Alaska but I have had problems to obtine QSL from them.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1100 WTAM Cleveland, OH – Is often heard with pretty good quality here in Norway on 1100 kHz with their ‘Newsradio 1110 WTAM’ programming. Cheryl Z, Regional Program Director, confirmed my report to the station from the February 2006 DX pedition at Lista with an e-mail yesterday.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

1130 WDFN Detroit MI – Is quite hard to hear in Norway due to all the dominant stations on 1130, but on October 20 2006 during KONG15 I got them quite early in the night. Thanks to Randy Auerbach, Director of Engineering at Clear Channel Radio – Detroit, for confirming my reception tonight.
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1140 WRVA Richmond, VA – Was another station heard on the successfull February 2006 DX pedition to Lista on 1140 AM. WRVA was heard more than 2 hours after our local sunrise, as late as 1005 UTC, with a good signal. Jimmy Barrett, Program Director, confirmed my report by e-mail today. Jimmy even hosted the programme I listened to at the time, called ‘Richmond’s Morning News’.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

1150 CKFR Kelowna, BC – Mark Burley, Group Program Director confirmed my October 2006 (KONG14) report this evening. I heard “Oldies 1150” with a very good signal one morning. CKFR have now change it’s format from Oldies music to a news/talk/sport format. Thank you Mark for a new British Colombia station.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1230 ZBF Bermuda – Barry Fraser at the Bermuda Broadcasting Corporation confirmed my reception of ZFB in Bermuda on 1230 kHz. My first verification from a station at Bermuda! ZFB was heard at the November 2005 DX-pedition to Lista with quite good quality for an hour or so. Barry says ZFB now only relays their FM programming and identifies as ‘Spirit FM’ or ‘Spirit FM 105’. ‘Spirit’ is their Christian Community radio station, but also carries news and music in addition to Christian programming. ZFB plans to move to FM only in the future, so it looks like Bermuda will be gone from 1230 kHz soon.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

1260 WMKI Boston MA – Nice e-mail from WMKI in Boston confirming my e-mail report to the station. Although transmitting on 1260 kHz, a frequency also used in Europe, WMKI has a powerful transmitter and is frequently heard in Norway with the rather uninteresting Radio Disney programming. My e-mail came from Jaccalen Grillo-Campagnone, Marketing & Promotions Manager of AM 550 Providence & AM 1260 Boston.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

1270 WXYT Detroit, MI – Nice e-mail from Ralph J. Hunt, CE verified my October 2006 (KONG14) report last evening. “Sportsradio 12-70” is often very strong in Kongsfjord.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1310 WDTW Dearborn MI – A most welcome e-mail from Rona Danziger, Program Director at WDTW in Dearborn MI just arrived. She kindly confirmed my October 2006 reception of the station. This Monday (July 30th) I sent away three reminders to stations I very much would like to see a verification from. So far, two of the reminders have done their job pretty well.
First, there came a brief, but friendly e-mail from Steve Miller, General Manager at KGU Honolulu HI 760. Then, after a while, another e-mail arrived, this time from Monte Passmore, Chief Engineer at KKMO Tacoma WA 1360. He also confirmed my reception of that station.
(TJ’s DX Place)

1330 KWLO Waterloo IA – During the night I received a short email from Dennis Lowe, AM Operations Manager KWLO/KXEL, confirming my October 18th 2005 (KONG13) reception of “Star 1330”.
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1350 WOAM Peoria IL – WOAM is heard now and then with their Nostalgia-type music format. A nice reception from October last year resulted in a report to owner Bob Kelly, who emailed a confirmation in time to spice up my breakfast. And finally I have a 100% reply rate from Illinois with 17 QSL’ed of 17 reported.
(Arctic DX -blog)

1350 WTOU Akron OH – Jerry Mullins confirmed my reception of Sportsradio 1350 in an email today. I heard the station during KONG11 in October 2004, under the name WTOU. Today they are named WARF.
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1370 WSPD Toledo OH – An e-mail with a nice, full data verification attached as a Word file just arrived from Eric Goldberg at Clear Channel Engineering in Toledo/Defiance, Ohio. This came as a response to a letter report I had sent some days earlier. First, I sent my report via e-mail to the local engineer at WSPD. He responded, complaining about all the e-mail reception reports he receive, and denied to verify reports sent that way. Therefore I had to do a new attempt, trusting the old royal postal service this time. Well, it worked, and it worked great. Thank you to Eric Goldberg for confirming my October 2006 reception of WSPD!
(TJ’s DX Place)

1380 KRKO Everett WA – (“NorthSound 1380”) Nice letter from President Andrew Skotdal confirming my October 2005 reception during KONG12. This was a response to a follow-up.
(TJ’s DX Place)

1390 KLGN Logan UT – Yes, now and then a QSL drop in. This time it was an e-mail from the Chief Engineer at KLGN in Logan, UT, Cliff Smith, who kindly confirmed my October 21, 2006, reception. Yet another KONG15 logging. Thank you very much, Cliff! Cliff’s reply, by the way, arrived yesterday, while I was participating on another DXpedition,
(TJ’s DX Place)

1390 KRRZ Minot ND – Yet another new state. To finish off April and open a QSL rush (hopefully!) in May, I
received two e-mail responses to my reception report to KRRZ in Minot, ND. First I found a friendly reply from GM Richard M Stensby who confirmed my October 14, 2005 reception of the station. Then, this afternoon another message arrived from Chief Engineer Kurt D. Bart with an official QSL letter and data sheet attached. This is yet again a new state for me – and the third new state verified in less than a month.
(TJ’s DX Place)

1390 WGRB Chicago IL – Nice e-mail from John Boehm of WGRB in Chicago, Illinois, confirming my audio clip of the station. John says my audio file was ‘barely listenable’, which is quite true as I have only been able to receive this station once, a January morning in 2006, at my home location, with poor quality. WGRB is an easy catch in Northern Scandinavia, but very uncommon in the south where I am living. WGRB is ‘The All New Inspiration 13-90 AM’ in Chicago with the slogan ‘Where the Ministry is in the Music’. They play nice gospel music which used to be available as an audio feed on the web as well, but now appears to be unavailable outside the US due to ‘licensing restrictions’. A pity as I quite enjoyed listening to their programme at my computer at work.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

1400 CBG Gander NL – One of the most common East coast stations, but I’ve had difficulties obtaining a verification from this one. Brief email from Keith Durnford today confirmed a 2004 reception and made way for a small celebration as it was my Canadian MW verie no 180.
(Arctic DX -blog)

1430 WXNT Indianapolis IN – WXNT Indianapolis IN is not the most common station on 1430, with its superdominants KLO and KEZW. I heard them last October during KONG15, but I didn’t find out until today when I listened to a 160-minute-long minidisc recording of 1430 kHz. I just received a very nice reply from Scott Sands, the Director of Operations and Programming in Entercom Indianapolis WZPL/WNTR/WXNT. I’d like to publish his letter here:
‘Wow, thanks for your note. I haven’t done a QSL verification in years. I thought it was a dead hobby; so, it’s good to know it’s still a livingtradition for broadcast radio fans worldwide. I’m flattered to haveWXNT-AM/Indianapolis included on your DX list.All the best from Indianapolis and the staff of Newstalk 1430-AM, Scott’
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1450 KLAM Cordova, AK – E-mail from J. R. Lewis, President/General Manager verified my October 9th 2006 (KONG14) report this night. Heard KLAM with a fairly good signal ending news giving time check and identification.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1450 VSB AM Gold, Hamilton, Bermuda – My 3rd verification yeasterday evening came from Ken Harris, Special Projects Manager at Defontes Broadcasting Ltd. He sent me an e-mail verifying my September 2007 report. He also mention the companys 2 other AM stations. 1160 (BBC, no local identifications) and 1280 (BBN, no local ID). Thank you OJS for the QSL information.
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1450 WKXW Atlantic City NJ – I was very surprised to find a letter from WKXW in Atlantic City, New Jersey, in my mailbox the other day containing 2 stickers. A verification text on one of the stickers was signed by their Chief Engineer Tom McNally. WKXW has now changed their call letters to WENJ and carries the ESPN Sports Network. WKXW/WENJ is the most commonly heard North American station at Lista on 1450 kHz, but getting a reply from them has not been easy. I haven’t tried all that hard myself, but I know others have.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

1460 WDDY Albany NY – Robert C. Thompon of Radio Disney in Albany, New York, sent me a kind e-mail yesterday confirming my reception of WDDY Radio Disney on 1460 kHz. The station was one of several stations heard on the DX-pedition to Lista in February 2006. WDDY was the only station identified though – the Radio Disney programming makes that rather easy.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

1480 KBMS Vancouver WA – QSL no. 47 from the state of Washington came today when I received a nice email from Angela Jenkins, Station Manager of KBMS Wancouver WA 1480. Thanks, Angela, and welcome back from your holidays!
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1480 WHBC Canton OH – I managed to hear WHBC in Canton, Ohio, briefly at the February 2006 DX-pedition to Lista. WHBC is only a ‘number 3’ station on 1480 kHz at Lista and usually competes with the far more common stations WMDD in Puerto Rico and WSAR in Massachusetts. After a couple of attempts, I received a friendly e-mail from Chief Engineer Dale Lamm today. Dale apologizes for the delay in anwering, but says he has been with his new job as chief engineer of WHBC. Dale is also a HAM with the call sign NX8J and promises to even send an official confirmation by postal mail.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

1480 WSAR Fall River MA – Immediate e-mail in just 25 minutes from Lisa Borges, Marketing/Promotions Director of WSAR in Fall River, Massachusetts, confirming my reception of the station. WSAR is frequently heard on 1480 kHz here, often mixed with WMDD in Puerto Rico.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

1480 WSDS Salem Township MI – This night, shile sleeping in my car waiting for conds at the Jervan QTH, I received a short email from Sima Birach, confirming my reception of WSDS Salem Township MI 1480.
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1510 WAUK Waukesha WI – Quite unexpectedly, WAUK was heard on Sept 15 with local announcements from ESPN Milwaukee, including a WMCS (Greenfield, WI 1290) legal ID. ESPN Milwaukee is split between WMCS and WAUK as the homepage logo implies but WAUK stayed on for a while after WMCS took over the program. Email from Eric Anderson at ESPN Milwaukee Sales confirmed my reception tonight. First premium verification of the season!
(Arctic DX -blog)

1510 WWZN Boston MA – Jon Anik PD at WWZN verified, by email, my PAX68 report.
(Christer’s Radio Blog)

1530 KFBK Sacramento CA – v/l, magnet 55d f/up#2. v/s:Joe Foft, Staff Engineer.
(DX-midAMerica)

1550 KYCY San Fransisco, CA – My 3rd verification today arrived in my inbox now from Phil J. Lerza confirming my October 9th 2006 report (KONG14). Heard KYCY “Open Source Radio” with a very good signal at 1300 UTC. Again thank you Mr. Sagdahl for submiting a correct e-mail adresse!
(Ole’s DX-blog)

1590 KVGB Great Bend KS – Brief e-mail just received from Jack Hartle, News Director at KVGB in Great Bend, Kansas, where he kindly verifies my October 2006 reception of that station.
(TJ’s DX Place)

1590 WPSL Port St. Lucie FL – WPSL in Port St. Lucie, Florida, is a station I have only managed to hear once, in October 2004 at our regular DX-pedition site at Lista. The station transmits on 1590 kHz, a frequency where WARV in Rhode Island is the dominant North American station and a frequency which nowadays is also ruined by DRM interference from 1593 kHz. WPSL has a talk format and normally IDs as «The Talk of The Treasure Coast». Chief Engineer Joel Traynor says the reception could have been made possible thanks to two hurricanes which passed through Florida in 2004. He is certain the flooding of the property around the transmitter contributed to my reception and says he also received some other reports from Norway and Italy at about the same time. Interesting theory ‘do hurricanes improve reception and cause, to quote Joel Traynor, «strange bends in the atmosphere»’.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

1600 WKWF Key West FL – Nice e-mail from Randall M. Perry, Assistant Chief Engineer at WKWF in Key West, Florida, who confirms my reception of WKWF ‘Sportsradio 1600’ on October 23, 2004. This station has been heard several times at Lista. It is not the most common station on 1600 kHz, but does pop up every now and then. Randy tells the station is only an effective radiated power of 500 watts, and says it is is remarkable that their signal can make it all the way to Norway. I guess the location of Key West, as close to the sea as you can possibly get, contributes to the fairly common reception of WKWF in Norway.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

1650 KCNZ Cedar Falls IA – E-mail with a verification letter attached from Janelle Rench, Office Manager, confirming my October 2006 reception during KONG15
(TJ’s DX Place)

1670 KHPY Moreno Valley CA – This morning I found an email from “El Sembrador”, confirming my October 26th 2004 (KONG11) reception. v/s was Jaime Hernandez, Chief Engineer.
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

1680 WLAA Winter Garden FL – I was very pleased to get a reply from WLAA in Winter Garden, Florida, yesterday – a station I have heard and reported many times through the years both as WLAA and as their predecessor WTIR. WLAA is the most commonly heard station on 1680 kHz here and one of the easiest stations to pick up from Florida along with 1660 WCNZ and 1700 WJCC. WLAA has a Mexican format and usually identifies just with their slogan ‘La Que Buena’. Marketing / Promotions Director Veronica Cruz also sent along a MP3-recording of the station.
(Arild’s Radio Blog)

1700 KKLF Richardson TX – KKLF is not among the most common stations on 1700, which usually is dominated by KVNS and XEPE. But patience often pays off, and a few days ago, while examining recordings from KONG15 last year, I found several “570 KLIF” identifications on 1700 kHz. Thanks to Vice President/Market Manager Dan Bennett and to Hubert (Hue) Beavers for confirming my reception!
(Arnstein Bue / DX Paradise)

Entry filed under: Medium Wave, North America, QSL'ing. Tags: .

WTWP (ex-WTOP) is now WWWT Maldives first private radio stations

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Colombia » Blog Archives » NA QSL Harvest  |  October 18, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    […] NA QSL Harvest you Mark for a new British Colombia station. (Oles DX-blog) (more) […]

    Reply
  • 2. Harriett Sollars  |  November 18, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks! Hi there, You’ve done a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m confident they will be benefited from this site.

    Best regards

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Propagation (from N3KL.org)

Solar X-rays
Geomagnetic Field

Archives

Counter (activated 21-03-2009)

free counters

