KCKK 1600 moves to 1510 replacing KCUV

January 8, 2007 at 3:14 pm 7 comments

KCKK 1600-AM becomes a sports fan’s playland at the first of year but its “Classic Country” format survives. KCKK went all sports under new call letters KEPN on January 1 but its country oldies were already on KCUV 1510-AM, thanks to a rare bit of cooperation between managements.
KCUV was drifting along with an oldies-rock format but, said Tim Brown, CEO of NRC Broadcasting, when the country format became available, he jumped at it. A quick call to Bob Call, general manager for Lincoln Financial Media, KCKK’s owner, netted not only the format but the call letters.
The sports network ESPN is moving to KEPN 1600-AM (from first on the dial to last on the dial) after parting ways with KLZ 560-AM, which becomes a Sporting News Radio outlet Jan. 1. KCKK 1510-AM officially became airborne on 19th Of December.

(Denverpost.com)

Entry filed under: Medium Wave, North America. Tags: .

Radio Racja 1080 changes frequency WTMM 1300 The Team turns into Eve 1300

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gloria  |  January 20, 2007 at 6:42 am

    Hi, I am so disapointed that KCKK went to sports. How very siapointing. I guess I will have to purchase CD’s of the music you all played 1510 plays today country that I just dont understand. Good luck however, on whatever you choose to pursue. I will not be tooning in anymore to 1600 or 1510. Thank you. Gloria Quackenbush

    Reply
  • 2. David  |  January 21, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    I finally found the new home for KCKK, Classic Country. But the reception is just aweful. I get mostly static. When it was still at 1600, the signal was strong and clear, but here at 1510 it is very week.

    And where is Rick Jackson’s Country Music Hall of Fame that used to be on 1600 every Sunday morning.

    Very dissappointing.

    David

    Reply
  • 3. Cindy Parmenter  |  January 22, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    I also want to know where Rick Jackson’s Country Music Hall of Fame is. I have enjoyed listening to it on Sunday mornings for years. It is greatly missed.

    Reply
  • 4. DeWayne Young  |  January 23, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    I have been a fan of KCKK when it was FM. I was disappointed when it went to AM but still hung in there and listened to the great music. However, since the move to 1510 I am HUGELY disappointed in the music selection. The classic country was the only one for me and 1510 does not do it anymore. I will not be tuning in to the station of static.

    DeWayne

    Reply
  • 5. Irene & Richard  |  January 27, 2007 at 7:46 am

    My husband & I are very sad about the loss of KCKK 1600. It was the only station we listened to — even all night while we were sleeping!! And, yes, we also miss Rick Jackson’s Sunday morning program. Why did you all do this!! It was the best station on the air. The modern country just doesn’t do it! Classic country is where it’s at.

    Reply
  • 6. Cathy  |  March 10, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    I’ve been listening to the old country station KCKK 1600, particularily Rick Jackson’s Sunday morning country music for 15yrs or more,
    it’s the only station that truely defined country music. Got to be
    my Sunday tradition, I’m sorely missing it-as it’s music said “home”
    to me. Wish someone would play the classics particularily Rick
    Jackson’s Sunday morning program. I’m so depressed it’s gone

    Reply
  • 7. Tim Hiett  |  July 25, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    My entire family and I have enjoyed 1600 AM since it was KLAK, back then they had the Sunday morning hymm sing .Then KCKK 1600 had the Rick Jackson show that we looked forward to every week. I think loosing this station to another of many sports stations is a shame, but I guess it is all about the almighty dollar, thank God I recorded many cassete tapes as I did.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Propagation (from N3KL.org)

Solar X-rays
Geomagnetic Field

Archives

Counter (activated 21-03-2009)

free counters

