KVNS 1700 format change

December 28, 2006 at 10:11 am 30 comments

KVNS 1700 Brownsville, Texas is now ‘La Preciosa’ and using all Spanish music format as of a few days ago. Running many music imaging promos.
(Alan Furst, Round Rock TX, Dec 22, mwdx yg via DXLD)

Entry filed under: Medium Wave, North America. Tags: .

New Format Replaces Liberal Talk on WSAI 1360 QSL from Yemen

30 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joe Saldana  |  December 31, 2006 at 4:57 am

    Please bring back my News Talk radio station …I BEG YOU! The “ratings’ aren’t high? Well I don’t know how that is done, but I sure know a lot of people that are enfuriated to be left out in the cold without our station.We have no room for yet another Spanish disposable music station.—Extremely upset in Brownsville,
    Vic Shockerz
    ripthunders@juno.com

    Reply
  • 2. Dan  |  January 2, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    I can’t believe the talk radio format has been removed. This gives me another reason to want to get out of this area. I want my Beck and Savage back.

    Reply
  • 3. Karen  |  January 2, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    This is what I miss:

    Glenn Beck’s morning rants. Dr. Laura lectures and Bill O’Reilly’s “no-spin” afternoons. Tom Martino solving problems and Michael Savage raving at night.

    I know many people who, like myself, are faithful listeners to these talk shows. Many rely on them to entertain while driving or gardening or working or just listening to the radio.

    But the worst loss is the loss of an alternative talk radio station.

    The Lower Rio Grande Valley is capable of supporting two English language talk radio stations. I urge Clear Channel radio to reconsider its decision and return KVNS to a talk radio station.

    Reply
  • 4. Bobby Doggett  |  January 3, 2007 at 12:16 am

    I wish they would go back to english…we had a choice…of informative english speaking programs that were in the public interest and had most winter texan listeners

    There are already a zillion music stations. How about some programming that benefits the country. We’d better hope the winter texans don’t give up and leave..

    Reply
  • 5. john  |  January 3, 2007 at 10:29 pm

    I wish it was that easy. The best thing I’d recommend would be to contact the local station managment and let them know. Rally your friends, get them all to call and write. The more they hear from you the more they will see the error of there ways.

    Operations Manager
    Billy Santiago
    billysantiago@clearchannel.com

    General manager
    Tim Thomas
    timthomas@clearchannel.com

    1-866-973-1041

    Reply
  • 7. Kathy  |  January 4, 2007 at 1:02 am

    I could not believe my ears when I went for my morning walk and turned on my headset to listen to Glen Beck. I kept thinking something was wrong with my Walkman. I kept trying to find my beloved talk radio station. I kept hearing Tejano music instead of Glen’s great morning show.

    Please, please bring our talk radio station back. I must have my daily dose of Beck and Dr. Laura. My day’s just not the same without them.

    I can’t believe this was done to us without any warning whatsoever! So many of my friends listen to this station; I cannot believe the ratings were as low as they say they were.

    Reply
  • 8. CKS  |  January 4, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    WE NEED GOOD TALK RADIO IN THE VALLEY
    WITH NO MIKE SAVAGE OR GLENN BECK
    ON THE AIR I THINK TH MEDIA CONSPERCY
    IS REAL AND WE ARE IN DANGER

    Reply
  • 9. CKS  |  January 4, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    I READ THAT ORILLEY AND BECK WILL BE ON A DIFFRENT FQ. 710 NO NEWS ON MIKE SAVAGE
    THE KURV 710 IS A WEAK STATION HARD TO PICK UP .

    Reply
  • 10. john  |  January 4, 2007 at 7:25 pm

    i doubt that they will drop Rush to replace with Orilley but you never know. 710 is not as powerfull as 1700 and is also transmitting from north edinburg.
    Keep those letters comming. The more people you can ralley the better chance of bringing your station back.

    Send to: Operations Manger, Billy Santiago billysantiago@clearchannel.com

    Reply
  • 11. Pissed at you idiots  |  January 6, 2007 at 6:17 am

    You Idiots, I used to listen to talk on your station. But I have no interest in a spanish music station. To think that people would listin to AM for music is ludicrous. Whomever came up with this idea should be taken out and shot. I have bought a Siruss satelite radio since you idiots drove me off am. I will not come back.

    Reply
  • 12. Alex  |  January 7, 2007 at 7:14 am

    When will we be able to hear Michael Savage,Glenn Beck,Coast to Coast (9:00pm and after midnight news),The Forbes Report,Monica Crowley,Dr.Laura, Paul Harvey News and Bill O’Reilly ?????
    When will we get to hear them again ? When will they be back?

    Alex — Edinburg,TX

    Reply
  • 13. Christine-Rancho Viejo  |  January 13, 2007 at 12:58 am

    Please bring back the talk radio! I need it! We do not need more music stations here in the Valley – especially on AM!! I miss Glenn Beck, Bill O’Reilly and Dr. Laura & Michael Savage!! You really messed up this time guys!

    Reply
  • 14. Robert - Rancho Viejo  |  January 13, 2007 at 1:30 am

    One thing we DON’T need here in the Rio Grande Valley is more Spanish radio stations!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I feel the same as my wife ^ above feels. You messed up royally.

    Reply
  • 15. David  |  January 15, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    What do I have to do to open up another talk radio station..AM OR FM with the SAME format you had in KVNS… I’ll make the money if you don’t want to!

    Reply
  • 16. PATRICIA WASKOW  |  January 17, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    We are winter Texans, dismayed to find that the single station with excellent reception on SPI has drastically changed format!!!

    I not only agree with all of the above, but hope to cast the deciding vote by way of this email.

    BRING BACK TALK RADIO !!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 17. richard  |  February 3, 2007 at 3:30 am

    The good word is that 710 are aiming for syndication of Beck and O’Reilly (last I heard, they are hoping to have something in the bag by April) In the meantime, since Billy & his Bozo’s think that the one thing SoTx needs now is yet another Spanish music station, you do have the choice to listen to both Mike Savage and Bill O`Reilly at this link.

    http://www.910knew.com/main.html

    If the programmers at 1700 are only in this for the ad revenue, we can get our entertainment online.

    Reply
  • 18. Amado  |  February 4, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    More Spanish music? Give me a break! There are plenty of Spanish music stations bleeding over from Mexico. What were you guys thinking? I can’t believe I’m saying this, but: I HOPE YOUR PROJECT FAILS MISERABLY. And as soon as someone else picks the progamming you so selfishly sacrificed, I will become a loyal listener of theirs. And I know plenty of others who will eagerly do the same.

    Reply
  • 19. feliza  |  February 26, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    Hi, I urge all winter Texans to go to the San Antonio/Boerne/Austin area, where they love the restless Winter Texans….we do not need these immigrants from up North telling us what music to listen to….do the winter Texans pay local taxes?

    I love La Precisio, and all the older Spanish songs, and quite frankly Dr Laura was getting too political, Rush was too gordito, and the others too loud…dame los bukis!!

    Reply
  • 20. izzy  |  March 8, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    I need my Bill O’Reilly fix at noon time while I drive to pick up lunch….I can’t take any more of Rush!!!!!!!!!!!. I miss Dr. Laura, Glen Beck and Coast to Coast. KVNS really messed up again. The first time it messed up was taking Tim Smith off the air. I really enjoined his show…..although he talked about politics sometimes, it wasn’t ALL he talked about like some other shows do.

    IZZY- Edinburg

    Reply
  • 21. Fro  |  March 30, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    You can also write and complain to the FCC asking them to evaluate the need for another Spanish Music station especially in the AM band. Also, find out when KVNS 1700 renews its license. You can petition to remove the station from the air. It does not provide a service since there already other stations. If there are enough people complaining, the FCC can take them out too. I too enjoy talk radio, and when I travel to the Rio Grande. I like AM station, because I can get them way before FM. So, if I can not here my shows, I get pretty upset.

    Reply
  • 22. CESAR PEREZ DIOSES  |  April 11, 2007 at 9:17 pm

    Last night I lstened to an AM station on 1700 khz. AM ide “La Preciosa” with music promos, spanish feamle and male announcers.
    I can`t beleieve it is the former KVNSI read the mesages above, I got a QSL from KVNS early last year. Can you confirm this situation regarding to KVNS changing format to PRECIOSA?
    Thanks:
    CESAR PEREZ DIOSES
    CHIMBOTE – PERU
    SOUTH AMERICA

    Reply
  • 23. Kaaren and Charles French, Silas French, Jonathan French  |  April 14, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    Please please bring back the format with Glenn Beck in the mornig when i do my chores me and my husband and kids used to laugh so at his show he is great! O Reilly better on T.V. than radio we watch him on Fox. Rush is good on 710. Laura Schslinger is too much the same every day, blah blah blah, one size fits all don’t think so. Bring back Dr. Mike Savage at five! He was so funny! you never knew what the heck he was going to say. Like having a very smart, crabby old grandpa to cope with. How is Teddy.
    Bring back Beck and Savage!

    Reply
  • 24. Kaaren and Charles French, Silas French, Jonathan French  |  April 14, 2007 at 12:50 pm

    And this time get decent salesmen to stump for advertisers! There;s plenty of product out there! Ya’ll just didnt; advertise, or look for sponsors! Do your job

    Reply
  • 25. J Saldana  |  April 30, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    Any word on when/if Michael Savage’s show i going to be able to be heard down here in South Texas? it has been over 4 months and am still furious over this.Ive read all his books way too many time just to get my fix since then. It’s no joke when I say my daily routine changed without KVNS,as am sure many others’did too.I love my valley, but its sad that this is the kind of close minded mentality people have down here, replacing the ONLY decent radio station with Mexican garbage.We have enough disposable music stations down here…playing the SAME thing.

    Reply
  • 26. Robert Nino  |  December 5, 2007 at 9:00 am

    I used to be able to pick up KVNS in Laredo on most nights and I really miss it. The signal could also be heard in San Antonio!!! Nowadays I get my talk radio fix from the internet. There is no talk radio whatsoever in this crummy town (Laredo). We get enough Mexican music from across the border. It was a bad decision to cater to the illegal alien market.

    Reply
  • 27. Steve Kelly  |  February 4, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    way to go, finally a great oldies station keep up the good work. I have been telling everyone to tune in. how about a little advertising I know that oldies listeners would be grateful to find out about this station. It would also generate enough interest to keep it on the air

    Reply
  • 28. Mr America  |  February 16, 2008 at 6:30 am

    Gosh, I’m moving back to the valley in 2008 and will sorely miss my talk radio. Savage, Beck, O’Reilly, and Rush. I guess I’ll just have to purchase satelite radio in order to get my daily dose of talk radio.

    Reply
  • 29. Joanie  |  December 31, 2008 at 7:00 am

    When the oldies station station went to talk radio I was very upset since I was already listening to KURV, even with a weak signal. I immediately started looking for anoither station, but didn’t find any. Imagine my surprise when I found KVNS playing classic hits; I listen to it 24 hours a day, even in my sleep. When I first moved here from Ft. Worth I really missed KLUV/ Dallas, which plays oldies, but now I’m so very happy. I hope it never goes back to a Spanish format; I can’t handle anymore Mexican music. Thank you!

    Reply
  • 30. german  |  February 22, 2011 at 3:17 am

    los estoy escuchando en guatemala porque soy fanatico de la musica retro en ingles, los comienzo a escuchar por las noches de las 9.00 pm a las 6. am todos los dias.
    felicitaciones.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Propagation (from N3KL.org)

Solar X-rays
Geomagnetic Field

Archives

Counter (activated 21-03-2009)

free counters

