1600 KCKK call and format change

December 14, 2006 at 2:10 pm 23 comments

1600 KCKK in Denver has changed calls to KEPN. Heard with dual KCKK/KEPN ID and prominent mention of corporate ownership by Lincoln Financial. This is in preparation for a forthcoming format change from C&W to ESPN. Lincoln also owns KKFN/950 and this change will give them astronghold on sports in the Denver market. The FCC database already shows the KEPN call on 1600 and shows KCKK as unassigned.
(Patrick Griffith, Westminster CO via MT Shortwave Central)

Entry filed under: Medium Wave, North America.

KKOL Seattle 1300 to boost signal New Format Replaces Liberal Talk on WSAI 1360

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SUE  |  December 27, 2006 at 5:19 pm

    WHY DID KCKK SHUT DOWN????? WHERE DID CHUCK LEARY GO?????? I HATE KYGO SO NOW WHERE DO I GET THE GOOD OLD COUNTRY MUSIC?

    Reply
  • 2. Gail  |  December 31, 2006 at 10:09 pm

    I agree , I hate new country and KYGO, were did Chuck Leary go?
    And where can Denverites hear classic counrty?

    Reply
  • 3. Neal  |  January 2, 2007 at 6:37 am

    Hey SUE and Gail go to http://www.denverradio.net/comments
    and sighnup for free and you well get your answers to your question and concerns. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Laura  |  January 3, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    KCKK moved to 1510 and has the same call letters and same good old country music!

    Reply
  • 5. shirley baty  |  January 4, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    What a bummer! Who needed another sports station anyway?

    Shirley

    Reply
  • 6. O. Wilson  |  January 5, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    I’ll tell you what is a bummer. The old ESPN radio on 560 at least could be heard in northern colorado. Now, 1600 must be transmitting with aluminum foil. All my favorite ESPN hosts and shows cannot be heard north of Longmont CO. I hope 1600 plans on upgrading their equipment so all the old loyal listeners on 560 will be able to hear the ESPN line up !!!

    Reply
  • 7. Joe  |  January 6, 2007 at 6:31 am

    I love the classic country music and used to get so aggravated that 1600 could barely transmit beyond the metro area, if that. In addition, 1600 would not stream over the internet. I’m a sports fan too, and Monday nite and/or Sunday nite football was tough to pick up on 1600. Perhaps 950 will carry the games-years ago it was no problem to get the Monday nite games but now it can hardly be had anywhere across the a.m. dial. Furthermore, the Broncos’ post game show (most irritating because I am SO NOT a Broncos fan) runs right thru the first quarter of the Sunday nite games (Do ya really want to know how I feel? : ) So, you have my sympathies but ya better get used to the weak signal unless other options like 950 are available. On a better note, 1510’s signal appears to be much stronger, so I’m much happier about that. Hopefully, all the extraneous stuff that used to be on 1600 like car talk and paid advertisements will go somewhere else besides 1510. Ladies, I’m w/ ya. Where did Chuck Leary and St. John go to? I miss them already! Thanks for the tip Neal, I just might have to express my opinion once again!- Joe

    Reply
  • 8. TD  |  January 7, 2007 at 2:40 am

    Classic country moved to the old KCUV spot at AM 1510. KCUV’s Americana format can be heard on FM 102.3

    Reply
  • 9. Paul  |  January 7, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    First we get kicked off of 104.3 FM –
    now we get degraded to 1510 –
    what next ???

    Neal, what is the correct website ???

    Reply
  • 10. sharon  |  January 12, 2007 at 5:54 pm

    we need another sports station like we need a hole in th head ,This was the only good C&W station around that played the Oldies. Hope we get another good station . We lost 92.5 The Willi to classic western which in’st as good athe Oldies. Bring back the old one.

    Reply
  • 11. Dick  |  January 12, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    But, where did Chuck Leary go?

    Reply
  • 12. SUE  |  January 15, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    Where’s CHUCK!!!! Also, 1510 stinks. Cannot pick it up even as far north as Broomfield!!!

    Reply
  • 13. Peggy  |  January 16, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    Can’t stand the new 1510. Where is Chuck? When I want to listen to old country, that’s what I want. I don’t want a blend….. We started every morning with Chuck and I really hate that he is gone. This whole thing STINKS!

    Reply
  • 14. Jo Anne  |  January 21, 2007 at 6:50 pm

    Does anyone know where Chuck Leary went?? The above site does not work.

    Reply
  • 15. Kay  |  February 8, 2007 at 5:37 am

    PLEASE, PLEASE, where is Chuck Leary??? I want the classic country back, but most of all Chuck Leary.

    Reply
  • 16. Kate Steffen  |  February 22, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    I too am wondering where Chuck Leary landed. He was the spark of KCKK and a real asset to that radio station! I really miss hearing him first thing in the morning.

    Reply
  • 17. Donna Day  |  February 23, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    What a shocker when I suddenly found out I was listening to ESPN on my favorite radio station. What happened to my old country. I hate the new country. Has anyone found the Country Music Hall of Fame show anywhere. I miss Chuck. He was from Denver and then moved to Nashville where his show is now syndicated from. I miss all of my old DJ’s. Bring back my Old Country Radio Station

    Reply
  • 18. Chuck  |  February 26, 2007 at 4:22 am

    Anybody got a web address for the old time country? 1510 is better for me, as 1600 never came in up here in Loveland, 1510 does. Where did Rick Jackson go, that’s what I want to know.

    Reply
  • 19. Chase  |  March 9, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    For those that intrested here is the right address,

    http://www.denverradio.net/newforum/index.php

    Reply
  • 20. Donna  |  April 19, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    OK I found 1510 kckk. The old country is almost the same but it is coming from out of state. I don’t know who this DJ ” Calhoun” is that is on in the morning but he can’t hold a candle to Chuck Leary. And since it is not local, even though they say “Littleton, Colorado” I don’t get the traffic report on my drive to work in the morning

    Reply
  • 21. Kent  |  June 27, 2007 at 7:14 pm

    Since the demise of KCKK and the DJ’s that used to work there, I have switched to Sirius 61 Prime Country and 62 Road House, they have great Old Time country 61 from to 80’s to present, and 62 from 50’s to 80’s.

    Reply
  • 22. sylvia  |  August 28, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    I’m SO lost without KCKK!!! 1510 is not as good but better than nothing.

    Reply
  • 23. Ed  |  December 3, 2007 at 3:46 am

    I heard Chuck Leary today broadcasting from an oldies station in Nebraska. It’s his voice, but he says his name is Charlie Apples. His voice is unmistakable and it’s Chuck Leary. The station is 690 on AM. I think it’s out of Scottsbluff. It was good to hear him broadcasting again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Propagation (from N3KL.org)

Solar X-rays
Geomagnetic Field

Archives

Counter (activated 21-03-2009)

free counters

