WKOX 1200 and WXKS 1430 format change

December 11, 2006 at 11:53 am 12 comments

Progressive talk will soon be history, it seems, in eastern Massachusetts, as Clear Channel’s continued corporate retreat from the format brings a format change at WKOX (1200 Framingham) and WXKS (1430 Everett). Recently a Clear Channel help-wanted ad spotted for salespeople for the new “Rumba 1200/1430,” and while the company still hasn’t officially confirmed the move, it’s becoming clearer that the progressive talk format will be replaced by Spanish tropical music within the next few weeks.

(NERW)

Entry filed under: Medium Wave, North America.

Changes in Argentinian X-Band AFN Network programs on European AM

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ed  |  December 22, 2006 at 11:50 am

    Confirmed – the station switched over yesterday (12/21/06) at noon with no announcement, just started announcing 1200 Rumba in Spanish and started playing salsa music.

    Reply
  • 2. Sara Richman  |  December 22, 2006 at 3:59 pm

    The change made in the format is horrific. I listened to your station daily and was shocked to hear Rumba all afternoon. This is a disservice to the public. Liberal talk radio was a great service. It gave the opposing view of the right wing. I hope this station is not “in bed with the GOP.” Having one point of view in a Democracy is very dangerous. We have seen the results of having a complacent one sided press. I urge you to reconsider your decision. If Clear Channel can not make it financially in Boston, perhaps your management decisions should be reevaluated. One suggestion I would have is get rid of the “Best of” when one the host is away. Ed Schultz always has a substitute when he is gone.

    I have no interest in Spanish Rumba and will no longer be listening to your stations.

    Reply
  • 3. t-bone  |  December 22, 2006 at 8:00 pm

    well i guess the threat of such real criticisim of corporate america finally claimed a victim. America needs to know the truth this is a shame. It’s ironic though, such programming championed the rights of illeagel immigrants and multi lingual schooling and It was replaced with programming to suite the needs of those same people. Close the borders now.

    Reply
  • 4. dpf  |  December 23, 2006 at 1:50 am

    I listened to 1200 *exclusively* every day. Words cannot describe how upset I am about this. I can only hope another station picks up AAR!!

    Reply
  • 5. Tjack  |  December 23, 2006 at 3:43 am

    I just moved back to MA from Cleveland where Air America is broadcast out of Akron…or was in October. Had to hunt for 1200 AM in MA and listened in AM drive time and Al Franken at lunch. I’ll let Air America know I miss them…I’ll also suggest they list affiliates by frequency rather than call letters. The website isn’t very helpful in finding their carriers.

    Reply
  • 6. rms  |  December 23, 2006 at 11:54 am

    I never used to listen to radio until I discovered AAR and I listened every day AM and PM, unfortunately now my radio is off again.

    Reply
  • 7. DBO  |  December 23, 2006 at 6:54 pm

    The right wing strikes again. Let’s hope someone finds a way to bring the voice of the common people back to Boston. I know I wont be listening to “Rumba”.

    Reply
  • 8. jay dee  |  December 24, 2006 at 4:24 am

    We always read and hear about the”liberal media”, but can anybody find one liberal voice on the radio?.

    Reply
  • 9. Robert D young Jr  |  December 24, 2006 at 6:29 am

    Yes that was a dirty trick, kick Air america when it is down. I listened to WKOX every day since I heard about Air America. Now all that is left is that junkie windbag Rush, Michael Reagan who is a total idiot, Michael Savage who should be locked up in an asylum somewhere, on and on, that is AM talk radio in central Ma.
    Mass. is a liberal state? You’de never know it with the regressive trash that completely covers the AM band around here, especially at night. You have done the community a disservice by shutting off the only station that spoke the truth about the government we have found ourselves stuck with for the past 6 years.

    Reply
  • 10. Rick Moreau  |  December 24, 2006 at 7:55 pm

    They (the NeoCons and Clear Channel) can stop the ‘broadcasting’ by buying up and effectively shutting down stations across the country, much like the so-called christians down south are doing.

    I wonder if what they are really trying to do is whittle away at peoples choices till we all have to go to XM or Siriu.

    This is all thanks to the Communications Act (signed by Clinton I might add) of 1994 which revamped ownership rights and responsibilities. Perhaps the new congress should consider a redo.

    Reply
  • 11. MAB  |  December 25, 2006 at 2:13 am

    I was listening when the changeover occurred. I couldn’t believe my ears. They could have at least warned the public what was going to happen. Air America wasn’t perfect, but it certainly should still be around. It got more ratings than the current music format will. I’ll have to try to stream my Air America off the Internet now. I certainly won’t be listening to WKOX-AM or WXKS-AM ever again. I hope these stations lose lots and lots of money, which is only what they deserve.

    Reply
  • 12. a Boston patriot  |  January 8, 2007 at 5:30 pm

    I have been listening to 1200 AM every day, morning and night, exclusively, for over two years now. I even bought extra radios so I could move around the house and listen. My radios are all turned off again, and I will be streaming Air America off the internet. It really burns me that there was no warning at all. Clear Channel, you stink!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Propagation (from N3KL.org)

Solar X-rays
Geomagnetic Field

Archives

Counter (activated 21-03-2009)

free counters

